march 10, 2023.

i remembered i have a neocities, and more than that, i have a journal, so i guess i'm updating this now. did you know the first time i made a neocities/this account, it was originally for an arg (that i never completed, or even started) with friends? anyway, i got my polaroid camera today. i ordered it a few weeks ago and it shipped very fast. i'm still learning how to use it, and i have to be very conscious of lighting, because my camera doesn't come with flash. i'll probably have to buy more film when my paycheck comes in, because i only have enough for eight photos and i've already made six or seven already, but only three turned out right. here they are!

the far left one (the one decorated with skulls) is my very, very first attempt. i honestly don't know what went wrong there, but i still love it anyway. the middle one is my first successful attempt - i love this one a lot too. it's a polaroid of my backyard. the last one, the one on the left, is my second successful attempt! it's a polaroid of a view through my front window in the kitchen. there's a heart there because my family still hasn't taken off the window stickers from valentines day, but i think it makes the picture look a bit more charming.

i put some stickers on my first attempt for fun... i don't know anything about photography, really, not at all, so all of this is really new and fun for me to try and experiment and find things out. here's what i've learned so far:

1. my kitchen is a good place with good lighting, and photos are always guaranteed to come out good there.

2. my bedroom is not. i tried taking a picture (with the lights on) of my dog, and then another of two of my cats in my room, and neither developed right.

i guess i'll find out more tomorrow, when there's better lighting in the morning. i'll try exploring more places in my house and see what works and what doesn't. either way, i'm having a lot of fun. -sol